Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Hexagon knitting! (with instruction inside)

March 9, 2007

Hexagons

This is my first time to use double points to knit hexagons.

I actually inspired from the book “KNITTING NATURE”, it showed us how to knit different shapes.
I planned to attach the hexagons together to make a blanket for my baby.

hexagons yarn

The yarn is very soft, it’s from Blue Sky Alpaca Dyed Cotton yarn, I chose the beige, purple, light pink, light blue and darker pink for this hexagons combination. It should be really nice after sewing them together!

cast on

I cast on 30 stitches for each needle, and place a marker for every 15 stitches in each needle (that marks the corner of the hexagon.).

1st & 2nd rnd: knit
*3rd rnd: [K2tog, knit to 2 sts before next marker, ssk ] 6 times.
Work 2 rnds even (St st)*
Repeat from * to * until there are 3 stitches left between markers

step 2

work 2 rnds even, then*k2tog; rep from * around, now 9 sts left .

step 3

Break yarn and thread through remaining sts and pull tight and fasten off.

bind off

It sounds easy, right? Once you get used to hold the double points, you will find this very easy.
For more advanced knittes, they will add some motifs to the hexagons such as cable or lace paern.

However, it will take some time to finish off the blanket because I have to make many hexagons to complete a full size blanket!!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Your blog could be dangerous for me! I’ve found so many projects that I want to try. I love the hexagon pattern above – so easy and so portable!! We will be having our first grandchild – a boy – in August so I will be visiting your site quite frequently!!!

You stated that you are making the blanket for your baby. Congratulations!

Sheryl

April 20, 2007

Congratulations to you too, you will be a grandmother very soon!! Same to my mom. She is going to be a grandmother in July and she is very exciting too! She started to knit few baby clothes for my baby as well. :) It’s fun to knit hexagons, have fun!

craftlover

April 20, 2007

Hey – thanks for the great pattern. I’m going to make some out of hand-dyed wool yarn & felt to use for coasters.

Linda

September 28, 2007

Hi Craftlover:

Just thought I would let you know I have a pattern on my website for the same hexagon using straight needles instead of the dpns.

BTW, I love your yarn choice. Beautiful.

Lisa

Lisa

October 2, 2007

Hi, have you seen the blanket pattern ‘komb’ on berocco? great use of variegated yarn and they use a garter border, just in case you’re looking for further inspiration for the blanket!

Péitseoga

January 25, 2008

“Happy new YEAR^”

elbistanlı

December 31, 2008

Thank you sooooo much for sharing your pattern. I can’t wait to try it. Did you get your blanket done ?

-Mary

Mary

April 15, 2010

many thanks

jaxkie

March 5, 2011

you are so welcome, enjoy knitting :)

craftlover

March 10, 2011

This was the first set of instructions using dpns that I was able to find online. Good on you for showing me what to do.

Zahra Um Sajed

June 9, 2011

I don’t like sewing motifs together so I’m planning to pick up stitches along the sides of the hexagons just as when I made a mitred square blanket. No sewing involved……… best way!!

Zahra Um Sajed

June 9, 2011

if you started from the middle and then back in again once you have reached 30 stitches you could have a much thicker blanket. Even change the colour on the other side.

Karen Plimmer

February 7, 2012

thank you for your great suggestion. :)
lovely…

craftlover

February 7, 2012

I just came across your hexagon pattern and have made two already! I also made the pattern just one decrease larger…started with 19 stitches between the markers instead of 17…and used size 7 dpns and kitchen cotton to make a fabulous hexagon dishcloth. I left 6 extra yards on my cast-on tail to use to make a single crochet edge around (making 2 single crochets between the hexagon sections). Thank you so much for this pattern!!!! If you would like a photo, please send me your e-mail address and I’d be happy to show you :)

Kathy Johnson, Minnesota

September 25, 2012

Lucky to have found this! Thanks for being so generous on your sharing!!!!

Martha

February 15, 2013

5 notes

  1. Crafty Rachel » Knit Dish Cloths reblogged this and added:

    [...] I just found a picture of a hexagonal dishrag!  I must make one!  Craft Lover’s blog has instructions on how to make a knit hexagon. [...]

  2. Decken, Patches « das Web als Online Handarbeitsbuch reblogged this and added:

    [...] Hexagone bei craftlover [...]

  3. links for 2008-08-23 | Angelchrys reblogged this and added:

    [...] Hexagon knitting! (with instruction inside) " Craft Lover (tags: knitting pattern hexagon) [...]

  4. Decken 2008 « das Web als Online Handarbeitsbuch reblogged this and added:

    [...] Hexagone bei craftlover [...]

  5. Haus und Heim 2008 « das Web als Online Handarbeitsbuch reblogged this and added:

    [...] Hexagone bei craftlover [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

