Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Sock Knitting

March 9, 2007

Sock pattern and yarn

SOCK knitting is a challenge for me, I always have a mind set that only “professional knitter” would knit socks.

I have been knitting for about 2 years, and start to think about ‘upgrading’ my skill. So, I took action to buy yarn and books for sock knitting.

When I browsed the net to search for SOCK YARNS, wow, they are just beautiful, you can hardly resist from buying the nice colourful yarn! Especially those handprint sock yarn, the colour combinations are just gorgeous!

Finally, I went to Lettuce Knit to buy the book “Favourite Socks” by Interweave Press. For the Yarns , I bought the sales yarn from Knitomatic (Koigu yarn), also bought some sock yarn from Romni Wools too.

Everything get set, and I started with the koigu yarn that I used to have (from my old yarns basket).

However, I found that the yarn is a bit too thick that the sock will be really big , and not suitable for my foot. So, I changed the yarn to a finer one that I bought from Romni Wools.

Pink sock unfinished

At the same time, I changed my pattern to another one .. (I always change my mind on patterns…)

I hope I can finish this sock soon so that I can wear them out!

(the needles I used are US 1, they are really fine that I feel like I am holding long toothpicks! It’s hard to manage for the first few rows , but ,then, it’s easier to hold them so that I won’t twist them. )

It’s fun!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Hey sock,

Nice meeting u. I m going to be ready soon (tat wat my lady said…….)

See y around, ya.

JL

June 1, 2007

