Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

How to decrease stitches evenly across a row

March 20, 2007

My mathematics is VERY weak, and I am BLIND to numbers, I always need a calculator to help me on addition, subtraction…etc. I feel bad that I still act like this after University studies! What a regret that I didn’t study hard in Maths while I was in high school.

As I am now knitting the cardigan for the baby, I need to do some decreases in the shoulder and neck section.

It says: decrease 18 sts evenly across a row (a row of 143 sts.)

SO, HOW?

I don’t know how to make it even, so, I tried to search the net for help.

And I found it!

what a good source for us to avoid making mistake:

Just go to the following link, type in the numbers of stitches on the row, and how much stitches for decreasing, then it will show you the exact way to knit.

http://www.thedietdiary.com/knittingfiend/tools/EvenlySpace.html

After the calculation, it came up:

K3,  (k2tog, k6) 17 times,  k2tog, k2.
see how Amazing it is?!

APPLAUSE!!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

hahaha~~good means!

Sandy

March 21, 2007

Thanks for the terrific info and link. I usually use my calculator but it’s a bit fiddly so this will be incredibly useful.

niftyknitter

March 21, 2007

Sandy,
Yeah, this is really good!!

Niftyknitter,
Thanks for visiting my blog,
This is terrific! Yeah!
One thing I never understand: why not the designers give us the clue of HOW TO DECREASE evenly in the pattern? They might think that all knitters know how to do that manually.

craftlover

March 21, 2007

After reading the article, I feel that I need more info. Could you share some more resources please?

How to Get Six Pack Fast

April 15, 2009

just go to their link and type in the numbers of stitches that you want to decrease/ increase .. then, they will do the calculation for you, it’s kind of easy and fast.
try it!

craftlover

April 18, 2009

THANK YOU for sharing that link! It was exactly what I needed.

Jill

August 2, 2012

