Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Chevron cadigan (FINAL)

April 2, 2007

I finally finished the Chevron cardigan this afternoon!

 

 

I love it, I feel very satisfy with this cardigan because I learned a lot from it.

 

1) Provisional cast-on

 

2) worked sideways in two halves (explained in my previous articles)

 

3) sew side sleeves with grafting method (so that the seam is invisible.)

 

4) modified the pattern a bit on the cuff section, it was supposedly garter stitch for 5 rows, but I used the chevron pattern again for cuff decorations.

 

 

I just love the wood buttons so much! In my first thought, I wanted to buy fabric buttons with similar colour (beige), however, I couldn’t find a single one. I think most people make the fabric (or cloth) buttons on their own. Again, I am not good in fabric sewing, so , I chose the wood ones. They went well with this classic pattern and natural colour yarn.

 

 

I love the neck style of this cardigan, it’s not rounded, not V-neck but squared neckline.

 

 

This is my first time to use the grafting method for sewing the side seam. It looks ok, of course, not really INVISIBLE, you can still see a slightly ‘sank’ area with this seam.

 

 

Here is the side seam on the inside, it’s not too bad, the line is not too thick.

 

 

 

 

Hooray! One more garment in my baby’s closet now!

 

 

 

 

Pattern: Nashua Bloom, Spring and Summer 2007 “Chevron Cardigan”, p. 24 -25

 

Yarn: Needful KIM, colour #300 (beige) around 4 balls.

 

Needle: size 4.5 mm

 

Buttons: bought from Walmart, Wood

 

Previous articles related to this Cardigan:

Chevron cardigan (left half) 

Chevron Cardigan (left and right halves)

 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I really like it! The chevron on the sleeves look great. Great job.

myhobbyisyarn

April 2, 2007

Thanks! 🙂

craftlover

April 2, 2007

It’s beautiful, nice way to make it your own.

elanknits

April 2, 2007

Thanks Elan, when I feel comfortable with the pattern, I always want to modify them in my own ways, it’s more interesting, and more unique! 🙂

craftlover

April 3, 2007

