Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Phildar Sweater (Hiver 06/07)

April 7, 2007

I think this is the worst sweater I have ever knitted.

This sweater was my old project that I put it aside about 4 – 5 months ago. At that time, I loved this pattern because of the floral motif on the left front. It’s so elegant. However, I chose the wrong yarn, (Korallo) I thought it should look nice with its shimmer design. However, the yarn is too stretchy that my x-small size becomes medium size. It’s now too big for me (even though I am pregnant now, it still fits me well, however, the floral motif lost its shape. )

It’s really a pity that the sweater doesn’t look good on me.

This picture was shoot last Nov , and I still needed to knit the sleeves, neck band and sewing the seams.

I finished them off in the past two days. However, when I look at it, it’s seems like I am wearing the sweater inside out. Just because of the pattern itself : knit with Reverse St st, it doesn’t look good at all. (probably the main reason is my yarn, it looks so coarse, not smooth enough.)

Anyway, I am a bit disappointed. I am afraid I won’t have courage to wear it out.

I didn’t have courage to take pictures neither, but then I think, I should learn from mistakes, I shouldn’t use that yarn again for this type of garment, and I shouldn’t choose the reverse St st pattern anymore, it feels like I am wearing a reversed sweater.

Oh well, at the same time, I notified that my knitting skill in last Nov was quite immature though, and I couldn’t fit them well. So, by the time I finished it off, I knew that I have no way back, I won’t rib it off and knit again, I just keep it like that. Again, I treat it as a lesson.

For my next project, it’s the Rusted Root sweater, it’s knitting from top to down with circular needles (no more seam sewing!). It’s so much fun, and I hope I can successful on this.

Pattern: Phildar TenDANces Hiver 06/07 “Sweater”

Yarn: Korallo ~ colour #104 , around 8 balls

Needles : 4.5mm – 5mm

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Wow, I think that sweater looks beautiful, but I understand that the fit is not always as good as we’d hope… Did you already block it? Is there no way to salvage it?! Perhaps you have a size-medium friend that would be delighted to have a hand-knit item like this…

CraftyRachel

April 7, 2007

Your comment is soooo encouraged, you makes me feel much much better. I am not good on ‘fixing problems’ ( I think I shall buy a book or lend a book about fixing problems.) , and I don’t have any more energy to redo it. You know, the yarn is not as good as I thought, so do the final outcome. Thanks for your encouragement! 🙂

craftlover

April 7, 2007

The sweater is absolutely GORGEOUS!! Too bad it doesn’t fit as well as you hoped! I just found your blog and I love everything you do!! Haven’t seen it all yet though, so I’m about to do that now.
Best wishes, Bente from Norway :o)

Bente B

April 7, 2007

Bente, Thanks for leaving a message here and it’s very encouraging to see it. 🙂
Really thanks for that.
I added your blog link to mine, you are so talented in knitting those ‘complicated’ patterns, I have so much to learn from you. The first thing that I want to try out is the Icosa Ball…. it’s just fantastic!

craftlover

April 7, 2007

