Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Japan town in Toronto

April 13, 2007

Do you like Japanese products?
I love, I love their food, stationery, books, magazines, bakery, and ceramics.
We have one little Japan town in Toronto. It’s really small, there are two stores in this ‘town’, one is on the right of the entrance, which sells food, bakery, sushi & sashimi, little food court, glass, ceramics, jewelries, etc.

The other side on the left of the entrance, they have cosmetic section, 2nd hand books for sell, and video/DVD rental service. I love their books and magazines section, they do have some goodies there if you are lucky, I did buy a knitting book over there with a very cheap price (since it’s second hand). Today I went there and checked out if there is anything new, and I found two knitting books which are newly published this month.

I don’t really find anything interesting in the first one,for the second one on the right, I did order it from Yesasia, and I am still waiting for the shipment. This is good as I can see what’s inside at the back cover page. It’s great!! I will show them to you when I get this knitting magazine!!

How much do they sell this?
for the 1st one,it’s around 28 dollars ,and for the second one is about 32 dollars (approx) .

In yesasia.com, I bought the second one with only Cdn$18.13 for the second book, and the shipping is free!!
(for the 1st book, YesAsia sell them for $14.96 Cdn only!!)

Location for J-town :

3160 Steeles Ave. E., Unit 6-11, Markham

Mon : Closed
Tue – Fri : 10:00am – 7:00pm
Sat : 9:00am – 7:00pm
Sun : 11:00am – 6:00pm

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Where is this? I’d love to check it out when I’m in Toronto this summer. We’re staying near the CBC.

elanknits

April 13, 2007

Elan, Sorry, I forgot to give the info of the location, I added it in the post. Thanks for the reminder.
Yeah, welcome to J-Town!
(don’t expect too much, it’s much much smaller than the one in San Francisco or NYC?! )

craftlover

April 13, 2007

Is there any antique stores around there? I’m interested in buying Japanese Katanas.

keio

April 21, 2008

Hi, is there any Japanese one dollar store in Toronto? If you know, please feel free to give me an idea. I ‘d love to seek for cute items in that store.

Another questions: I hope to purchase some products of one dollar or under one dollar with Japanese specialty. If you have clue, please let me know.

Thank you so much!

I replied you through email and told you the exact location for this ‘so called dollar shop’.
THere aren’t that much of Japanese cool stuffs in Toronto.
They can be real expensive!😦
It’s great if we can take a trip to Japan and shop their dollar shops. it’s really cool!!

Echo

August 6, 2008

japan town is exactly where in toronto?

gab

February 21, 2009

I went to J-Town yesterday. I discovered it by accident as my brother and I were passing along Steeles Ave. I was shocked that it was so close to where I live–it’s just so obscure. It’s a nice space, though, but I was immediately disappointed. Some lots were completely vacant, the stores that were open looked quite subpar to the standard I was used to when I lived in Japan. There is a small local supermarket ideal for Japanese cooking, a shop which sells ceramics, books and magazines, as well as section for cosmetics. There was a crafts store as well. There is a nice restaurant here which is pleasantly meets Japanese standards. The whole of J-Town was not busy at all. I hope more could be done with it. I was hoping it would keep my Japanese gf, who is moving to Toronto in a year, from feeling too homesick. I don’t think J-Town will help, but there is a Japanese community centre which is located near the Ontario Science Centre, which might. The Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre is located just off Don Mills Rd, north of Wynford Drive, between Gervais Drive and Garamond Crescent. You can see the sign on your right if you drive up from Don Mills Road from the Ontario Science Centre. J-Town could use a Daiso 100 yen shop. That might draw more people there. For a wider of selection of Asian goods, your best bet might be to stay on the Steeles 53 bus going east to Kennedy and visit Pacific Mall and Market Village, which is primarily all Chinese goods, but there is an adequate Japanese ceramics and kitchenware shop there (Pacific Mall, 2nd floor) run by authentic Japanese people. Hope this helps. It’s very feasible to hit J-Town, Pacific Mall and Market Village all in a day. Note: I think J-Town closes at 7 p.m.

Jackson

October 14, 2009

J-Town would probably be more successful being closer to the downtown core, but I’m thankful for the fact that it exist at all. We try to make it up whenever we are able, but otherwise we do any grocery shopping we need at PAT and a variety of ‘general stores’ downtown.

Jeremiah

February 7, 2011

thank you for sharing, I hope there will be more Japanese stores in Toronto (up-town area) as their stuffs are really neat!

craftlover

March 10, 2011

I am looking for “Merries” baby diapers in Toronto, do they have this kind product in the J-Town?

amy

March 9, 2011

thanks for asking…
but I haven’t been there for a long long long time, so, I have no idea if they carry this or not.

craftlover

March 10, 2011

wow! j town sounds soo awsome! i can’t wait to try it out! im ganna go on saturday,

Dylin

May 19, 2011

did you go there finally??
The “dollar shop” was gone…too bad. otherwise, there were really good stuffs there…

hope you enjoy the tour there.🙂

craftlover

May 21, 2011

I am looking for Netsuke made from ox bone or boxwood
Is there a store in Toronto
can anybody help me ?

thx
Dave

Dave

October 16, 2011

