Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Lettuce Knit (Toronto yarn’s store)

April 18, 2007

Today is a sunny day, and I drove myself to downtown area for visiting the Lettuce Knits.

I need few more yarns to make my baby blanket, so, this time, I planned to go to Lettuce knit, instead of Romni Wool.

Because in Romni Wool, they don’t carry Blue Sky Alpaca yarn, and actually, in Toronto, only Lettuce knit carries this brand.

This store is not a very big yarn store, but it does contain lots of nice yarn, buttons, needles and bags for knitters!

I love this store, the store ladies inside are all very kind and nice. They are so willing to help you out when you need them.

They carry lots and lots of sock yarn that you really find hard to choose what you want.
They also have many books, and magazines for you to choose the right patterns.

I love the bags that they hang on the wall, they are not cheap, but look really great to carry your knitting stuffs around. I won’t buy those sewing bags, I usually use paper shopping bags for holding my current knitting stuffs, and I found them very useful already , so, no need to spend money on buying fancy sewing bags.

DId you notice the skirt that the store lady wore today?? (on your left)
I didn’t notice that until I downloaded all my pictures to the computer. I think she knitted it from the book “The Nature knit” , the hexagon skirt!! It’s beautiful.
I am actually doing the same thing : knitting hexagons ! I am going to combine all the hexagons to make a baby blanket for my baby, I wished I would finish this off soon, so that I can start a new project soon!!

They do have sales item at the very back of the store,you will see few baskets of sale yarn on the floor.

I bought few skeins of Lorna’s hand dyed yarn, I am planning to use those for knitting a little square carpet (Curve of Pursuit, pattern from http://www.Wollythoughts.com )

And of course, I also got two dyed cotton from Blue Sky Alpaca, you can see that she has the whole section of blue sky alpaca stuffs there! Lots of color choices!!

Can’t wait to go and visit this store?

Here is their address:
70 Nassau street
Toronto, Ontario
M5T 1M5

Opening hours:

Mon – Sat: 11am – 6pm
Sunday: 12pm – 5pm
(They open till 9pm on Wednesdays!)

   
   
 
What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Dear Lillian,

Wow, I am dwelling when I am looking at the Lettuce’s Knit pictures! Their yarns are so yummy and I LOVE Lorna Laces yarn! Romni doesn’t carry it so I couldn’t enjoy them. Now I know, Lettuce Knit carries them!

Hey, Romni carries Blue Sky Alpaca too! It’s by the sock yarn aisle, the left hand shelves.

No matter what, I think your trip to Lettuce knit is perfect, especially all the delicious yarns and the Hexagon skirt!
Angel

angelknits

April 18, 2007

相片裡的線,都不是一整捲的(圓形)..
那是否都要在把它繞成一整捲的呢?
還是就這樣可以直接開始用.

你們那的毛線店有好多唷,
我們這呀..要到好遠才有一家,
真的好不方便唷!真羨慕呢~~

Sandy

April 18, 2007

Angel, REally?? Romni has Blue SKy?? I must take one more trip there and check it out. 😀 hahaha.
I am wondering how much they cost for that. In Lettuce Knit, they cost me $12 for one skein. I am wondering if it is the same or cheaper in Romni….
( I only saw “MIsti Alpaca Cotton” in Romni, and they look very much the same.) Angel, Lettuce Knit is a good place, you will find some good stuffs there! They do have your favorite blue colour yarn for Lorna’s brand. So, check it out !! 😉

Sandy, yeah, we have to wind them into the ball on our own. Because many of them are hand dyed, so, they dont’ wind that for you. But, it’s fine, I have a ball winder at home. 🙂

It’s true, we are already the lucky group, we can find the store easier, but, you know what, I need to drive for at least half and hour or 40 minutes to these yarn store. Not so close to my house though. 🙂

craftlover

April 18, 2007

Wow!!!! I wish I had a (candy-)store like that nearby!!

Bente B

April 18, 2007

I love Lettuce Knit, and am incredibly fortunate to work about 10 min away! (Oh, such temptation on a lunchbreak… they now carry STR!)
Romni can be very good, because they have almost everything, but I also find it can be very frustrating, because they have almost everything almost everywhere. Is it just me?

Em

April 19, 2007

Bente, I wished I had one like that nearby my house too, so that I don’t need to take more than half an hour driving to that store…!

Em, thanks for visiting my blog, you are so lucky that you work nearby Lettuce Knit. If I were you, I don’t think I can hold the temptation to visit them!! Romni is great! my friend Angel and I always go there and check out the yarns that we want. But we both stand in front of the shelf and think: which one is better? this or that? we usually stay in the store at least an hour or even more. ha.

craftlover

April 20, 2007

