Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

“Knitting never Felt better” by Nicky Epstein

May 24, 2007 , , ,

I’ve got this new book from Romni last Sat. It was great, I can’t stop myself not to buy it!

Before I start a project with this book, I need to do some research on felting yarn,
Which yarn is best for felting for a scarf?
I mean, it felts nicely, and won’t be too coarse or rough when you wear the scarf?

Anybody has any good suggestion?

I found that there is a little article about felting in Knitty.com:

The most popular choices for felting include yarns made from wool, mohair, alpaca, angora, or llama – or a combination of these. Each animal fiber lends a different characteristic to the finished fabric, so keep your end result in mind. Wool [from sheep] typically felts [fulls] into the most smooth fabric, but sometimes a little mohair or other type is a nice addition. For a slightly feral, haloed look, turn to a yarn with a bit of mohair in it, such as Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride or Mountain Colors Mountain Goat. For a supple, yet solid, fabric, try something with some alpaca or angora in it. And for a felted yeti look, the more llama in the yarn, the better [Cascade Yarns Pastaza makes great textured felt].

Does anyone has suggestions on which BRAND of yarn is great for felting?
If so, please let me know. Thanks!

Nicky Epstein’s website: http://www.nickyepstein.com/

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Galway is our favorite for felting. It comes in lots of colors and is affordable. We have tried several other yarns, but Galway kept coming up as the favorite.
Good luck.
Mary

mary

May 24, 2007

I am so glad that you carry this yarn, Mary,
I will definitely go to your store and check it out the yarn’s color.🙂

craftlover

May 26, 2007

I just checked out the net and Galway carries a lot of different colour chocies! I can’t wait to go to mary’s yarn to check out the yarns! Mary’s Yarn is always my favourite….it’s so cozy and warm…..I wish I can have a house like that!

angelknits

May 26, 2007

Yeah, I want to check it out too. Even though if they don’t have our colors in the store, they can order for us (I believe so.) SO, it’s quite convenience though, they help us to save up the shipping cost.🙂

craftlover

May 26, 2007

Frotgree Alpaca felts, it is very soft, and comes in lots of colors:) I haven’t seen that book yet, but from what you have shown it looks exciting!

spincerelyyours

June 8, 2007

Tamara, thanks for your suggestion, I tried to find this alpaca through the net, they really come in lots of colors!! I love it.

This is book is great, it’s wise to buy it from Amazon and keep it in your knitting library.🙂

craftlover

June 8, 2007

