Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Japanese Knitting Calculator

May 31, 2007 , , , ,

This is a gift from my aunt, she bought it in our local yarn store (operated by Chinese, location: Warden and Steeles, inside the plaza.) I don’t know about the price, because it’s gift, it’s not polite to ask how much it is. But, I can guess that it shouldn’t be cheap though.

This machine is really helpful and useful if you like to knit with Japanese patterns.

First of all, as we all know that Japanese patterns only shown in ‘one-size’ , if you want a bigger size, it’s hard to adjust the chart by calculating by hand. So, this machine will help you to make the adjustments. Just type in your tension (how many stitches and row for 10 cm.) and then it will show you when, how often to make decreases and increases. It’s very powerful.

I didn’t use it yet, because I am not knitting any Japanese pattern recently, but, I will use it soon once I’ve idea what to knit.
This machine is shown in Japanese only. The shop lady said that they used to have an English version for the menu, however, they don’t do that anymore in the past few years. SO, all instructions in the booklet are in Japanese.
I don’t know how to read, but the shop lady was very kind and showed me some basic skills on how to use it.

With the booklet inside, it should be quite easy to use, because the instructions are illustrated with diagrams.

Thanks, Auntie Elsa , I love this little calculator, it’s very helpful. I can knit more Japanese patterns in the future and I can adjust the garment to fit myself perfectly.🙂

 

ETA (April 2009) : the store lady actually gave me a copy of an English version instruction, it’s so much better that I have no problem to use the calculator. :) 


What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

The calculator looks really cute! I know there is a chinese LYS at Warden and Hwy 7 inside First Markham Place called “Sweet Home”. Did you mean that one? Or is there another one at Warden and Steeles (the mall with T&T Supermarket)?

Angela

May 31, 2007

Angela,

The one in “Century Plaza” ,Near Metro Square.

Ah, I think you would love this and find it very useful too .🙂

craftlover

May 31, 2007

I never could have imagined such a thing.

flavadave

May 31, 2007

I have seen this knitting calculator in my old Japanese books. I didn’t know that it’s still in the market. Will see how you like it so that I can keep it in mind next time I travel to Japan.

mimi

June 1, 2007

Tis is the first time i have seen it. Tks for sharing.

JL

June 1, 2007

Another blogger from Toronto! I’ll have to check this Warden & Steeles LYS.

tauceti

June 4, 2007

I finally found out that store and got yarns! thank you.

Angela Wu

June 10, 2007

I have recently taken Nihon Vogue (levels 1 and 2) and I have also taken a course in which we knit a cardigan from the Let’s Knit Series published in Japanese. I have purchased some other books from the Let’s Knit Series and am really interested in obtaining the Japanese calculator to which you are referring to in these blogs. However, I live in BC and I do not know which LYS you are referring to. Could you please e-mail me [toadmonster@shaw.ca] (or post on this website – I’m not too sure how the blog works) the name of the yarn shop and its address, telephone, e-mail address or website so that I can order the calculator. Thank you so much.

Tannis

November 3, 2008

knitting calculator:
Brother Ka – 3000 available in English from Brother Knitting Machines. Very good to have if you can get someone to help you figure out some of the instructions
Remember to e-mail me if you understand the method. I would appreciate the help.

e. dennis

April 7, 2009

Wow, do you know where this calculator can be purchased? I really REALLY would like to get one!

Donna Druchunas

May 14, 2009

Yes, I want to have this calulator. Where I can buy it or order by mail?

Fitti wong

November 3, 2009

sorry, I don’t know , as I’ve got it in Canada, and seems like that store didn’t have any more in stock.
did you try any shop in Hong Kong??

craftlover

November 16, 2009

I have a Brother Knitting Calculator, Model KA-300 for sale for 25.00 including shipping. If interested contact me at adrken@msn.com

Adrienne

June 25, 2010

