Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

How do you keep your knitting notes?

June 11, 2007 , , ,

I used to drop down notes while I knit.

In the past years, I used to write them down in my handy note book, or just a piece of paper.

But, after I joined the blog, I love to use the computer to all these things for me.

Before I start to knit, I read the pattern first, then, I use tables to help me for checking how many rows I have been knitting.

(this is an example of the notes for my essential tank top in Lace Style book. )

Of course, at the same time, I need to type down when to decrease or increase, or anything change in the pattern.
(I will put a check mark on the empty box after I finish such row. ) I think it works quite well to me.
Some knitters are smart enough to knit without counting the rows or they can even remember the complicated pattern, but, for me , I always forget where I am, and I think this is a good way to keep myself on the right track.

I think this is very helpful for knitting lace pattern, or anything complicated.

How do you drop your notes?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

haha.. I never take notes for my knitting. Before I start a project, I scan through the pattern once or twice, try to understand the stitch patterns, then cast on! Even for lace patterns, I don’t like to use stitch makers or row counters. usually I recognize where my knitting stage is by counting the rows by hand or look at the stitch pattern repeats. I know it is time comsuming sometimes. but that’s how I knit lol…

Angela

June 11, 2007

While I’m working on the piece in hand, I’d mark up the pattern or use another piece of paper. To keep track of my needles, yarns comments etc I do it on my blog and now, on ravelry.com.
I’m not big on keeping on going notes on the computer since I rarely knit near the computer. It’s easier just to scribble it down on a piece of paper that I can keep in my project bag.

May

June 11, 2007

Wow, that is impressive! I usually just jot things down on my working copy. I find that I’m better off if I can understand the pattern and “read” what I’m doing on my knitting. If I have to keep track – I’m better off using tally or check marks rather than a row counter which I can never remember to turn!

spincerelyyours

June 12, 2007

Your notes looks very organized! I normally use the magnetic row marker ( clover) for patterns or the the row counter.

mimi

June 13, 2007

I am a pretty bad notes keeper. I tried to write notes but I don’t understand what I wrote afterwards. I like your chart very much especially if I want to create my own patterns.
Keep it up and Have fun!

angelknits

June 13, 2007

I MUST take note of my works.

I will make copy of the pattern, take note as i knitt along, normally on the back of the paper.

I will file those pattern sheets in a folder for keeping sake even though i know i will not use it again.

JL

June 16, 2007

