Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A big problem: burping my baby

July 7, 2007 , ,

I still have a problem on burping my baby, seems like she is harder to burp compare with other babies.

I tried different ways: shoulder ,knee…., but still doesn’t really work well.

So, without burping Erika, it’s easy for her to cause hiccups or vomit (a little of milk) . I feel so frustrated and sad that I can’t burp her. 😦

Did anyone face this kind of problem before? How would you advice me to burp her easier?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Have you tried all these? http://www.healthmad.com/Children/Five-Ways-to-Coax-a-Burp.26123 My 2nd was kinda hard to burp too.

Soknitpicky

July 7, 2007

I faced the same problem at first… but my midwifes told me that it’s actually no need to burp a breastfed baby. (unless you feed her with a bottle).. and there’s no worries about her vomitting… that’s because her stomach is really small now and it happens if she can’t hold all that she has taken… just try to hold her upright for a while after her feeding and that should help… Jasmine used to throw up big each time she overfed herself during the first few months but fortunately that doesn’t happen too often… and btw, the baby will soon outgrow the hiccups in a couple of months… and if it happens right after her feeding, making her cry will stop the hiccups. HTH.

Maryann

July 7, 2007

I can’t offer advice regarding babies, but I wanted to say, she looks so awfully cute!

projektleiterin

July 8, 2007

One of the advantages of breastfeeding is no burping needed. As no air will be suck into the stomach.

JL

July 8, 2007

You have a beautiful baby! My daughter was born 3 weeks early and weighed 5 lbs 13 oz and she spit up (vomited) a lot for the first couple months. Doctor said that is normal for early babies as their stomachs are so small they just can’t hold as much as they drink. As long as Erika is growing and gaining weight, she is getting enough milk. This is all from 27 years ago! My daughter (also named Erica) will be having her baby, our first grandbaby, in August (21st). I can’t wait!!!
God Bless you and your family and I will check back again to see how everyone is doing.

Sheryl

July 8, 2007

Hummm, I’ve never heard that about the breastfeeding and the burping before. I breastfed 3 babies and we did did the whole burping routine. I don’t remember what we did when it was difficult though.
I do want to tell you that she is absolutely and incredible beautiful though!

spincerelyyours

July 9, 2007

I had the same problem with my daughter. She just refused to burp, so I gave up on it. Eventually she just farted. You have a beautiful baby!

myhobbyisyarn

July 10, 2007

Have you tried sitting her up in your lap and then leaning her forward as you rub her back? Sometimes, too, you have to pat or rub harder than you’d think to get that burp out …

Ruth

July 12, 2007

Hi,
donΒ΄t make yourself crazy with baby-must-burp. I birthed 3 children, one burped after every breastfeed, the other two only sometimes. After nr.2 i didn`t think about it. Just feel- baby is turbulent ? Ok lets pic her up πŸ˜‰
Another tipp: Carry her in a baby-sling .Beeing up helps baby to digest better.
Your Erika is sooo cute πŸ™‚
You do a wonderful job! Carry on!
Eva

Eva

July 14, 2007

I have the same problem. No matter what I do my thre and half month old baby does not burp. She has the worst gas pain and I feel so bad that I can not relieve some of it for her. If you find something that works I would love to know.

Erika

July 28, 2007

My baby also does not burp well. She was just diagnosed with acid reflux. Did you consider this with your doctor?

no, I didn’t .
but, it’s almost 2 years ago, and Erika seem very ok now, no big problem > πŸ™‚

Jamie

March 24, 2009

