Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

I am so frustrated with Erika’s feeding problem…

August 6, 2007 , , , , ,

My Erika is almost 1 1/2 month old now, but, her feeding schedule is very frustrated, she sometimes wants to eat every 3 hours, but, suddenly in the afternoon, she needs food almost every single hour or every two hours. Does any mom has the same problem with your baby?

I heard that as long as the baby has enough wet diapers and stool every day, she is doing fine.

But, her fussy feeding schedule made me very tired and frustrated.

Any clue?

Because of the frustration, I have no mood and time to knit at all.

Sigh….

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Hi mummy,

Dont worry, be happy.

Jayne doesnt had that problem. well again, not all babies are alike.

Mayb u can follow her way cos our princess is only 11/2 month old.

We adults also sometimes eat and eat and eat and there are days we dont feel like eating.

JL

August 7, 2007

Maybe she wants comfort and the breast is both comfort and food for herπŸ™‚ When that happenned with my babies, I gave them the pacifier, even though no one uses the pacifier these days. Turned out they both gave up the pacifier very easily and quite soon after anyway. Hope Erika settles down soon, all the best!

erin

August 7, 2007

I think this happened with maud during the nights, like she would feed 2 or 3 times in a row (!!!!) and that was so frustrating, esp in the night when all I could think of was SLEEP !!
It all settled down after a while though, be patient..

Also, just thinking, could she be just thirsty if it’s very hot ? I believe ( it was only last summer and yet I have nearly forgotten everything already !!) I sometimes had to feed Maud more often because of the heat. My mum suggested water but the doc said breastfeeding was all she needed (like at the end of the feeding the milk will get more watery)
Love to you both !

sylvie

August 7, 2007

Erika is sooo cute!

Jasmine used to be fed by demand, so she never quite follow any schedule. Feedings were usually 2-3 hours apart but there were days when all she wanted is feed, and feed again. It’s actually normal, and it’s called a growth spurt… read more here http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/growth-spurt.html.

Maryann

August 7, 2007

To all of the above,
really thanks for the encouragement and supports, I feel so good to read all the comments on the above. I am so impressed, at least, I know that my baby is not abnormal in this case.πŸ™‚

Honestly, it’s never easy to be a breastfeeding mom, sometimes, it’s quite desperate that I can’t really satisfy baby’s need. But when you see her grows, you know that all the hard time worths a lot!!

Thanks a lot!!πŸ™‚

craftlover

August 7, 2007

Are you sure it’s hunger she’s fussing about? My daughter, when she was about that same age (she is 6 now, so it does get easier, and they do grow! lol) she would do the same thing, and I finally realized that she wasn’t hungry, but just wanted something to pacify her, so we gave her a binky, and the fussing stopped. Granted, like a previous commenter noted, not all babies are the same, but it could be something else she’s wanting other than food. And hang in there, sometimes babies just go through growth spurts when they want more food than at other times. Things will simmer down after a while, and you’ll eventually want to do it all over again!

Tracey

August 8, 2007

I read this today, and wanted to share it with you so that you know you’re not alone, and maybe there are some groups in your area you could join to meet with some people who can help you feel better about nursing. http://www.cnn.com/2007/HEALTH/08/09/ep.breastfeeding/index.html

Tracey

August 9, 2007

I had interesting & different experiences nursing my three & what your describing happened with each whenever they were going through a growth spurt.

elan

August 9, 2007

I believe that this is called cluster feeding. Babies will often eat a lot more frequently if they are going through a growth spurt or sometimes right before the have a good nap. It is perfectly normal. I went through the same thing with my baby in the first few months. Now that he is 5 months his eating habits are lot more regular.

Kimberly

September 1, 2007

