Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Mold and Cast

January 3, 2008 , , , , , ,

My daughter is 6 months old now, and I want to make a cast for her hand and feet for a long time, However, I couldn’t find the material until few days ago, I found a casting kit for baby’s hand and feet.

My husband and I helped together to make this hand cast for Erika.
It’s so cute!!

Not to mention the size and the fatty fingers, the amazing part is her “hand’s post”, we put her hand in the mold and didn’t know how it will look like, it’s a surprise to see the hand ‘sign’ like this.

🙂

Cute…

we want to buy more mold and cast materials, so that we can make more for family and friends.🙂

Actually, We failed, because we poured too much plaster to the mold that we can’t get rid of the part that attached to her hand. Well, looks like a ‘carving’ work now.🙂

A great Keepsake for my Daughter Erika.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

That is so cute! What a great idea. I really thought you had left the extra part on there. LOL It looks like a sculpture or something!

Happy New Year!

Rubys N Purls

January 3, 2008

Just like in knitting, sometimes other mistakes can be a “design element.” LOL! I actually like it with the extra part, like it was sculpted out. So cute!

Soknitpicky

January 3, 2008

I love it! It’s so cute. I can totally see her doing that pose! I think she’s a potential ballerina….mini-lilly ballerina!

angelknits

January 3, 2008

how did you get her to stay still for the time needed for the mold to set? haha! i did something similar, not 3-d like this tho… for my puppy’s 4 paws…😛 this is really cute! 🙂 and yes, that additional piece is something special!

wen

January 4, 2008

This is just beautiful and so realistic, what a fantastic job you did. I wish I had done that when my son was a baby

Stephanie

January 4, 2008

That hand is absolutely darling!!! I’ve always wanted to do one of those! I can’t believe Erika is going to be 6 months, I started reading your blog when she was just a newborn.

I wondered if you are on ravelry? There’s a really cute vest in one of Debbie Bliss books, Special Knits I believe the name is. If you are interested I could look it up for you.

Have any great baby patterns that you loved on Erika? I found out the other day that I’m having a girl too, and this is my first time knitting for a newborn.

I hope you and yours had a very merry christmas and new year.🙂

Lynds

January 5, 2008

