Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Hong Kong yarn shopping!

May 13, 2008 , , , ,

I have been in Hong Kong for almost 2 weeks, it’s a wonderful trip here!

It’s not easy to go shopping with a baby in Hong Kong, so, I only have little time to do some shopping.

But still , I could leave my baby at home with someone to look after, and then I went to shop for the yummy Japanese Yarn!!

I went to 3 different stores so far, seems like the last one was the best one that I dont’ think I need to go to the others.

The first one that I went to is Emma Wool, located in Tedford shopping mall. It’s a small place with quite a selection of Japanese yarn. The yarn is just gorgeous, but EXPENSIVE! i bought some :

Emma Woollen
Shop 531 Telford Centre Plaza II
Kowloon Bay
Kowloon

The second one that I went to is Cheer Wool, it’s a bigger store compared with the previous one, and the store ladies are actually more friendly though. I bought two different kinds of Yarn over there. (but, still, I think the price is a bit expensive….)\

Cheer Wool Co. Ltd.
1 G/F Tai Sang Commercial Building
24-34 Hennessy Road
Wan Chai

Telephone 2527 3919

http://home.netvigator.com/~cheercom/

The third one is NeedleClub (裁縫舖) , although it looks a bit messy inside the store, because there are SOOOOO many yarn and craft stuffs over there! It’s all over the place!! I found SO MANY nice things in this store, and I think I will go there one more time before I come back to Canada.

Besides the yummy yarn, I also bought some felt too, the lady showed me a book that I can do some felting project with my knitting stuffs too. So, I planned to learn how to felt as well.
I am going to show you what I’ve got in this store, and you might probably be interested in this felting art too!

The good thing in this store is: the price of the yarn is same as the previous stores, but, I joined as a member ($100 HK registration and for LIFE LONG!) and they give me a 15% off everything! (when I checked the receipt and I found that there are some 20% off, I think they do have some sales items as well!)
They also accept mail order as well, (even oversea) so , whenever I find anything that I want on Japanese yarn , I can order the yarn through them, and they can ship them to me with local postal service. Isn’t it GREAT?

And again, the store ladies are very helpful and nice!

This store is located in Causeway Bay, not too hard to find if you know Chinese, or else, you can ask the people around that area , I am sure that they can give you a direction.

IF YOU WANT TO FIND JAPANESE YARN, I THINK THIS STORE HAS THE MOST OF THEM! AND LOTS OF BOOKS!! It’s a MUST GO Art and CRAFTS shop (includes yarn, needles, accessories, books, felt and fabric!!)

地址
銅鑼灣軒尼詩道 467 -473號
建德豐遘商業大廈14字1402-03室

Address :
Room 1402-03 14/F
Kin Tak Fung Commercial Building
467-473 Hennessy Road, Hong Kong

(next to 漢陽苑 Korean Restaurant, Causeway Bay MTR exit B )

電話 /Tel : 2836 5103

click this to view the map!

I also bought some felted art kit.🙂
it’s fun!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

i was at Needle Club last year and the bulk of my HK yarns were from there too. Its a must go!

Lois

May 14, 2008

I’m glad that you enjoyed your shopping. That reminds me that I should blog about yarn shopping in Hong Kong!

travellersyarn

May 14, 2008

So jealous! Your yarn shopping in HK seems like LOTS of fun and I wished I were there! I can’t wait to see you back and I can “touch” them….they all look yummmy!
Have fun!

angelknits

May 14, 2008

I love the cotton yarn.

Wish i have that address in April !!

Jackie

May 14, 2008

Yummy Japanese yarns oh I know!! Was in Japan Mar/Apr and wished I could ship the whole shop back… not exactly the cheapest but definitely of finer quality.🙂 Your HK trip is looking very fruitful too! By the way, have changed my webbie🙂 Feel free to visit! 🙂

wen

May 20, 2008

You have to send me one to try out, smile! I am so jealous I love that silk wheel I want it too… and the kit is so darling I want one too…. Big Smile! you are soooooo lucky

Cindy

May 21, 2008

hi would like to check with do you know where in hong kong i can buy nice laces, fabric, decorating crystals? Basically art n craft material to make nice ring pillows, I heard sham shui po have got a row of shops selling them do u have any to recommend to me?
my email is eyvonk@yahoo.com.sg

eyvon

November 18, 2008

You have to go to Sham Shui Po if you’re interested in crafting. The best street is Yu Chau Street. By MTR, you take exit A2 of Sham Shui Po station.

Walk straight ahead over the first crossroads and then turn left down the next one. 

Most of the bead shops are on the right hand side, button shops are next and you need to keep going around the block for the ribbon shops.

Girl About Asia

January 24, 2009

