Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Happy or Sad?

May 18, 2008 , , , , , , , , , ,

We have been in Hong Kong for almost 3 weeks, and tomorrow, we will go back to Toronto!\

This is my first time to bring a baby to Hong Kong, it’s not easy at all, because no everywhere accessible for strollers/babies (diaper changing is not accessible for all public washrooms.) , there is no crib at my mom-in-laws’s home, and the baby food is different with the ones we bought in Canada.

Talking about baby food, I thought that if I buy the same “brand”, it should be no problem. However, when I go to the supermarket , they do have the same brand (Heniz) , but the packaging is different and my baby has little reaction to the baby food. So, I turned back to the OLD CHINESE WAY – cook some congee for her.

So, everyday, I have to prepare the fresh baby food for Erika.
To be honest, it’s not easy to use other people’s kitchen (too many different reasons.)

Hong Kong is a small place, but very crowded with people, cars and buildings! So, it’s not very ‘wise’ to use strollers I guess, because when you take a bus, you have to fold the stroller before you step into the bus. but, at the same time, you have to carry your baby with you! My stroller needs two hands to fold, so, I actually have no hand to fold it while I have to hold my baby with my another hand. Luckily, sometimes, there are some nice people who give me a hand to fold the stroller.

Some people asked me why not use a sling, the reason is: I tried many brands , but still have shoulder pain after using it. So, I told myself not to use it because of my poor back problem (scoliosis).

Shopping time is Hong Kong is fun. Oh well, compare with the past few years, the price of EVERYTHING is higher !

In the past few years, while I didn’t have a kid, I shopped a lot for myself. But, this year, I shopped things for my baby Erika instead.
For myself, I treated myself some Japanese yarn (as introduced in my previous post), felting stuffs, and books. I hope I will have time to knit more. I know that as Erika grows up bigger and bigger (as a toddler), I will have to pay even more attention on her.

Probably I have to wait for another two years until I can have my own ‘longer’ private time to knit and do whatever I want to .

In Hong Kong, my parents-in-laws live in Discovery Bay, it’s a very nice place:

I took a picture of this place from their living room, we can even see the Disneyland. At night time, around 8pm(?) , you can see firework at Disneyland as well!

I love this place, however, if you love shopping, you have to spend at least 30 – 50 minutes on bus /MTR/ ferry, which is not very convenient though…….

HAPPY: meeting family and friends here, found some nice Japanese yarn with better deal (compare with Canadian stores) and Erika loves Hong Kong…

(in my last post, i said that I went to the shop with many japanese yarn and craft stuffs, here is the picture that the store lady took for me. as you can see, it’s not a ‘fancy’ place, it’s quite messy, but they have many goodies there! I saw a Japanese lady went to this store too! They are helpful and happy for worldwide shipping ,just kindly send them email to order! )

SAD: the weather is hot and humid, not ‘baby friendly’ in the shopping mall/MTR/Restrooms/nursing room…. the FOOD is yummy but expensive!!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I can’t believe it’s already 3 weeks! It seems like you were gone for a long time, so I’m glad you’re back very soon.
I missed HK’s food, and shopping too, but not the weather for sure!!
It seems like the yarn store has a LOT of stuff! If you didn’t make it clear, I thought it’s a warehouse of some sort. Wow, looks like you got goodies in your hand. Hopefully we can order the Japanese yarn and books from them in the future if they have a better deal.
Well, have a safe trip with Erika and I will see you soon!

angelknits

May 18, 2008

I hope that you have had a great time and that you will have fun with that gorgeous yarn you have bought. It makes me want to start knitting but I have too many other things on the go to take that up.
Kerin

Kerin

May 19, 2008

I live in HK and when I saw the photo of you in the yarn shop I know that its my kind of shop. I wonder if you can e-mail me the name and address of this shop.

Thank you very much in advance

地址
銅鑼灣軒尼詩道 467 -473號
建德豐遘商業大廈14字1402-03室

Address :
Room 1402-03 14/F
Kin Tak Fung Commercial Building
467-473 Hennessy Road, Hong Kong

(next to 漢陽苑 Korean Restaurant, Causeway Bay MTR exit B )

電話 /Tel : 2836 5103

shirley

May 19, 2008

