Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Making my own fabric buttons!

June 11, 2008 , ,

I know that many people know how to make fabric buttons on their own, but this is definitely my first time to make it. The good news is : they are not expensive to make unless you have to buy expensive fabric.

I found a ‘5 cover buttons kit’ in Walmart yesterday, and then I tried to make one with my scrap fabric.

It goes so well, I love it!
I will definitely stock up some nice Japanese fabric (why Japanese? because they have some cute and cool patterns! ), and then I can make some for my little Erika’s garments / my garments!

It’s fun to use the ‘tool’ to make the buttons, EASY and fAST!\

I saw some people sell these buttons and tool in Esty.com too, and I bought one pack(which is cheaper if compare with Walmart’s).

I am few ideas:

1) I can actually use the iron-on method to ‘print’ ERika’s photo on the fabric and then make the buttons, isn’t that very PERSONALIZED and Unique??

2) I can also embroider some motives or shapes or figures on the fabric before making the buttons.
hmm, I will see if it works or not. 🙂

As I said, I am definitely not the first one knowing how to make this, I found so many inspiring blogs/sites teaching us to make these buttons, they are just cute and gorgeous!
here is another one by Purl bee .

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I love the idea of having buttons with Erika’s photo on it. Too cool!

soknitpicky

June 11, 2008

Don’t forget rubberstamping with fabric paint. If you are creative/artistic as my 9 year old daughter, you can hand-draw on fabric with fabric marker etc. Possibilities are endless!

Sarah

June 11, 2008

Lovely! I love the idea and the buttons! I am so interested in this and I want to get started on this new hobby NOW!
I look forward to see Erika buttons!!!

angelknits

June 11, 2008

What a great idea!!! Those are super cute.

Summer Of Yarn Love Pal

June 11, 2008

真的很方便又快速!

Sandy

June 12, 2008

