Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

It’s been a tough week..

August 29, 2008 , , , , ,

Erika (14 months old) was sick since Sunday night. 
She had a fever around 38.6-38.9 C at night, we were a bit worried, we thought that it was caused by bring her to the swimming pool.

We gave her Tylenol to treat her fever, but still couldn’t bring the temperature down.

So, I brought her to the doctor on Monday. Since she had no other illness, just fever, the doctor suggested to continue giving her Tylenol or Advil if the temperature is higher than 39C.

How did Erika feel ? she didn’t seem to be that sick though, kept on playing and eating as usual.
But, once I tried to stop giving her medicine, the fever went up again.

Until Wed, I brought her to see the doctor again,  and asked why her fever didn’t go down?

Then, the doctor said, it should be ok, it’s caused by a certain virus. If the fever exists till Friday night, then bring her back to his place again.

Thanks God, On Wed night, her fever finally dropped and didn’t come back again.

Ok, I thought the story came to the end.

No, when I helped her to change her diaper, I found that her body and back had some pale pink rash there.

I was scared, what are they?

So, Today (Friday), we went to see the doctor again! (3 times in a week!)

And after checking her body, the doctor said that Erika has Roseola. 

No treatment is needed, the rash will go away after one / two days.

Roseola started with high fever (but in her case, her temperature wasn’t extremely high, around 38 – 39 C) 

and then follow by the rash (last about 1 to 2 days).

She is quite cranky in the first few days (while she had fever), and now, she is still very clingy on me, also says “ma ma, ma ma”. 

THe rash started in her abdomen area and then the chest, and the back. Tonight, I saw some rash around her hairline too. 

I hope the rash will go away soon, I love to see Erika healthily. 

Actually, I am very thankful (Thanks GoD!) that Erika didn’t have extremely high fever (because of that, the fever didn’t trigger the seizure for her, otherwise, I will be extremely panicked! )  , and seems like she was able to drink lots of fluid to avoid dehydration. I know that God will take care of her.🙂

ANd I am also glad that we have a very friendly pediatrician to look after my daughter Erika.🙂

More info about Roseola.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

辛苦了lillian。
常聽到周邊朋友說孩子發燒出現玫瑰疹,
但說實在的我還真的沒見過玫瑰疹長怎麼呢~
因為我們家二個孩子至小到大,
每回高燒燒退後都是出現”稀便”,
完全沒出過玫瑰疹的症狀。
所以我對此還真的沒有什麼妙方或建議!

找了篇台灣的醫學報導,讓你參考一下..
似乎玫瑰疹不是什麼很嚴重的病症,
所以Lillian不要太擔心~
只要注意不要讓Erika燒的太高,
而且藥一定要按時吃要不然”燒了又退,退了又燒”的現象一定會再發生的.
這就是”病毒性感冒”的特徵~

什麼是玫瑰疹(嬰兒玫塊疹):
玫瑰疹是一種病毒感染,主要為皰疹病毒第6型及第7型最常見。這是一種良性的疾病,很少有併發症或後遺症,發生的年齡雖然以六個月到一歲半最常見,但是小至兩、三個月,大至兩、三歲的小朋友也都仍有可能會得到玫瑰疹。

玫瑰疹是常見的一種幼兒良性感染疾病,會出現發高燒,溫度可高至攝氏39至40度,通常持續3.或4天。當高燒的時候,除了兩個小臉頰會燒得紅紅的以外,小寶寶的胃口、活動力也都還好,也可能有輕微的咳嗽、流鼻涕之類的上呼吸道感染症狀,檢查起來沒有明顯的特徵,這種病最大的特性就是當出現玫瑰紅似的細小斑丘疹時,往往也就是發燒漸退時,該病快到尾聲的預告,有時有於個人體質的關係而因高燒發生抽筋,但不必驚慌,因為這是良性的抽筋。

Thanks, and you know what, after posting this article, I already heard 3 kids having the same disease in the past. So, I knew that Erika wasn’t the only one ..🙂

Sandy

August 29, 2008

Hope Erika will get better sooon! and take care of yourself too…

THanks.🙂

Sherry

August 30, 2008

What a week for you! I worried about you two when I didn’t see your email reply in this week. Now we know her fever and rashes are caused by Roseola.
Hope it will go away soon and Erika will be healthy again.
Take it easy and don’t remember to take care of yourself.

Yeah, Erika was sick and really took up all my attention on her.
but, I am glad that everything is over and we again learned how to deal with fever ..😀

angelknits

August 30, 2008

I would be worried too especially with the rash creeping in a few days later. Three visits in a week to a doctor can make for a long week, I’m glad Erika is feeling better.

She was recovered, thanks.😀

Lynds

August 30, 2008

Hi Lillian,

I’m your “Secret Fall Yarn Swap Pal”🙂

I’ve been through the going back and forth to the doctors. Actually, just last month, we rushed to the ER because of a 104F fever and tylenol wasn’t working. What I’ve been told by the ER doctor and then later by their Pediatrician, is that you can give Tylenol and Motrin at the same time. For example, Erika has a high fever of 102 F (about 39C), give her a dose of Tylenol and then about 3 hours later give her Motrin. It works with keeping the fever down in my children.

Hope Erika feels better and I agree with angelknits don’ forget to take care of yourself.

nice to meet you here, yeah, I did take care of myself too. Otherwise, I won’t have enough energy to take care Erika.🙂
Glad that she was fully recovered.🙂

Cr0ch3tmama

August 31, 2008

Hope Erika feels better soon. It’s great that you have a good pediatrician. There is a shortage of Pediatricians in Quebec, that we just have a family doctor, though I wish I would have had a pediatrician, even though we do like our family doctor.

Good that you have a good family doctor and he/she can take good care of your little ones.🙂
will pray for you and your family!

Robyn

August 31, 2008

Oh! I’m glad she’s starting to feel better! I know that sickness in your child is awful.

yes, as a mom, we don’t want to see them sick, however, this is the nature….

Jude

September 2, 2008

My little one is just getting over a case of Roseola too, poor things. Glad they are both feeling better.

liliamason

September 11, 2008

