Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Hemlock Ring Blanket

October 28, 2008 , , , , , , , , , , ,

While Erika was sick last week, I stayed home with her most of the time. 

 

When I was taking pics of the FO, she was standing beside me and flipping my music books. SHe loves them!

When I was taking pics of the FO, she was standing beside me and flipping my music books. SHe loves them!

She recovered quite fast this time, but the runny nose kept bugging her a lot. 😦

 

Finally she seems fully recovers today. 🙂

and I can take my projects for pictures shooting.

 

I really love the center of the hemlock ring, gorgeous!

I really love the center of the hemlock ring, gorgeous!

 

 

The first project I want to show is the Hemlock Ring blanket.

I used Fleece Artist Sea wool for this project, I bought this yarn from Mary’s Yarn in June. When I bought the yarn, I knew that I won’t knit a pair of socks with this yarn, but may be something for Erika. Finally, I decided  to use it for a blanket, a fancy hemlock ring blanket.

 

I took a long time to finish off the edge, however, it worths, its really lovely!

I took a long time to finish off the edge, however, it worths, it's really lovely!

 

 

I love this blanket when I looked at Brookyln Tweed’s pictures. He is such a great photographer that everything looks so perfect until his shots.

Personally I don’t really like grey, so, I used the sea wool in purple/blue colorway. HOWEVER, after knitting it up, I think I shall choose Cascade Eco wool instead of this sock yarn, it’s too fine for this project, or I will need more yarn and time to knit it bigger.

RIght now, I am happy with the outcome, but I do want it bigger and ‘thicker’ though.

So, I think I will see if there is any sales on Cascade eco wool, then, will get some for this pattern again.

WHen I was knitting the feather and fan section, it’s really ‘tiring’ though, the 4 Knit rounds really makes my hands cramp! It’s almost 400 stitches for a round when I came to the end of the blanket.. … 

I am amazed that I could finished it in just 3 days!  IT’s in fact,  a short , easy project, not too hard to follow. 
Some people follows the chart, but I prefer to follow the TEXT format.

Another projects that I am working on right now :

1) the Helena cardigan for Erika, I put it down for a while, but I think it’s time to finish it off, still need to finish off the sleeves and neck shaping. 

2)  a cap for myself / Erika … have to get smaller needles if I really want to make it for Erika. 

3) a noro stripe scarf for my husband. Finally I planned to knit something for him. 

I dont’ really want to knit  a jacket, or sweater for him, it’s a XXL size, I know that I will put it down once I am on the 2nd row .. hahhaa. It’s just too boring to knit MEN’s stuffs.. (except bags / scarves)

I love the noro scarf a lot, I took some pics of it. 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

First, I’m glad Erika is feeling better.

And secondly, how can you be such a productive knitter and have an 18 month old! I’m so impressed.

Jude

October 28, 2008

I haven’t commented for ever so long but I just had to say that the Hemlock ring shawl is lookinf spectacular ! And I love the yarn too1

cat

October 28, 2008

Great projects! Love the colors of the Noro.

How much Cascade Eco do you need?

Glad to hear Erika is feeling better!

Robyn

October 28, 2008

Beautiful pics and beautiful blanket! Love it. You did a great job at the photo taking too. Mine is just sucks.
I’m done with my noro scarf too….will post some pics soon.

angelknits

October 28, 2008

Glad Erika is feeling better! The hemlock is stunning!!! 3 days! Impressive!

Lynds

October 28, 2008

The blanket looks awesome!
I love it!
Sorry I didn’t get more of a chance to talk with you today!
I was teaching someone new how to knit!
I hope you found some treasures to knit up!
See you soon.

lynn

October 29, 2008

