Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Great present from my best friend!

July 3, 2009

Oh, my dearest Friend Angel gave me a beautiful, extremely gorgeous scarf!!

it’s the Hanami with crystal beads, she told me that there are approx 75 beads there (at only one end of the scarf) .

I love it so much, and I know that she put lots of effort in it and tried to rush it for my birthday. I think She actually made it because she had an vacation last week.  :)

I am really happy to receive this beautiful scarf from her, she knew that I wouldn’t have the patience to knit the Hanami, so, she did it for me with my favorite yarn – Seasilk, in one of my favorite colors – the ROSE pink.

I love it.

Really, really love it, thanks so much, Angel.🙂

At the same time, in July 1st, we spent a morning to hand paint and dye the yarn and roving.

handpainted by me, roving from Romni wools

handpainted by me, roving from Romni wools

Again, it’s so much fun, we used food dyes, so, it’s very safe too. (so, we added vinegar for the ‘acid’.)

handdyed by me, roving from Romni wools

handdyed by me, roving from Romni wools

I love purple, I think most of my friends knew that… but I wanted to try to add some dark pink to it, however, it turned out to be too bright, and became fuschia color instead.

handyed by me, but not my fav color - Fuschia

handyed by me, but not my fav color - Fuschia

Sorry I don’t like fuschia, so, I redyed it today, and add some blue dye to it.

Now it became purple with little shades of blue and hints of pink there…. pretty! (pictures will be posted later)

Handspun African cotton, as soft as merino wool

Handspun African cotton, as soft as merino wool

I bought some undyed merino lace and hand spun cotton yesterday from Romni, it came as a cone, so, I have to make them as a skein before I do the handpainted dye.

Bristish Merino lace weight, lots of yardage..

Bristish Merino lace weight, lots of yardage..

I spent so much energy and time to make the skeins. (using the shift.)

I tried to dye one skein of merino lace (British merino, very soft!) … it’s kind of a dark indigo blue. I love it too.🙂

It’s so much fun to dye the yarn on my own, i think I fell in love with dyeing. haha

I hope I can work more after I arrive CHINA, and thanks Angel to giving me so many goodies (a shawl pin from her vacation, and some cute clothes for Erika as well) plus the food dyes..😀

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I am so happy that you like the Swarovski Crystals Hanami Scarf. All the efforts are totally worth it after I saw your smiling face. 😀 Yeah, there are a total of 75 beads becasue I didn’t find any in my knitting chair. haha.

The dying was fun. You did a great job at finding the beautiful alpaca lace for dying. I love mine and I will post some pictures later to show you as well. 😛 Now it’s time to see what should we knit them with. Any pattern ideas?

angel

angelknits

July 5, 2009

Wow, that present is really nice.

Great job on dying the roving! Looks good!

Robyn

July 7, 2009

