Craft Lover

Craft Lover

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Abalone

March 2, 2012

I love Abalone (pattern) a lot , and then I searched my stash, and found that I still have some Interlude yarn , and should be enough for make a small size Abalone.

I was trying to see if there were any other interesting projects for this yarn in Ravelry, but then, I found that there were very few projects for this yarn. I guess it was because of : 1) too expensive the yarn, it’s made of linen and silk, and made in Italy, it costed about $24 something for only 80~ yards.  I remembered that I bought this yarn in a final sale, so, it wasn’t very expensive overall. It’s a good deal, and I was planning to use it for a camisole.  2) this yarn is discontinued. So, if you want more, it will be really hard to find more.

This yarn is very gorgeous and silky. It’s so elegant with its sheen on it.
But after using a skein of it for the bottom of Abalone, it rolls up crazily! I hope it will block well, (wish me good luck!) otherwise, it will be a waste, and I am not sure if it is good to frog it and reuse it, because it has linen in it, which means it’s not easy to revert it .

And I only have 6 skeins, I wish they are enough to make this Abalone.
I saw some people using worsted weight yarn for this project, and it’s within 500 yards , so, I guess mine should be fine. And this pattern is easy to make adjustments.  Anyway.  wish me good luck! 🙂 thank you!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

